Bridging the Gap of Time

Eight months have passed since I conceived this WAVES blog idea and then what? Nada, silence, silencio, cisza… no waves were made with new entries in this blog. Why?

Cover of Looking at the World Tiwce by Alicja MannWell, I became extremely busy making waves not with new writings, but making waves about my writing, namely with promoting my newly (not so new anymore!) published book Looking at the World Twice: Essays & Poems on Identity, Belonging and Otherness.

It is amazing how much time and energy such activity does consume!  And there seem to be no limits to that consumption. The ‘limits” line seems to move in front of you like the horizon as you walk towards it in an open space.

So today I am posting my super condensed photo report in an attempt to bridge that gap of time and to resume writing this blog at least every other week.

Here is the report:

I was making waves with readings and signings of my book at a variety of bookstores, book festivals, reading groups, and other book loving places.

Alicja Mann reading at Booksmith in Falmouth, MAHere I am with my captive audience

The photos above and below are from my reading and signing at Booksmith in Falmouth, Massachusetts.

Alicja Mann reading and signing her book in Falmouth, MAReading my book and signing it for a friend

I was making radio waves about the book and exchanging books with other writers.

Alicja Mann giving radio interview, and exchanging books with author Mary RobinsonGiving a radio interview for KJLL 1330AM at the Tucson Festival of Books
Exchanging books with Mary Robinson,
author, civil rights activist & textile union advocate from Alabama

Another attempt at making waves was entering several competitions for the recognition of the book in the world of independent publishing. My book had to compete with the books published by a wide range of highly visible and reputable presses including those of universities, museums, and National Parks. I am happy to announce that my book has made several big waves.

Looking at the World Twice: Essays & Poems on Identity, Belonging and Otherness is:

Winner of 2009 National Indie Excellence Award in the Short Story Nonfiction category
Finalist of 2009 ForeWord Reviews magazine Book of the Year Awards in the Essays category
Finalist of 2010 Glyph Award of Arizona Book Publishing Association (ABPA) in the General Nonfiction (Adult) category
Winner of 2010 Glyph Award of Arizona Book Publishing Association (ABPA) in the Best Cover Design (Adult) category

Concerning this last award, I am very thankful to GC Myers for allowing me to use his art on the front cover. I always felt that his “Elevation of Being” would fit the spirit of my book perfectly.

Let’s face it, being announced as a winner or finalist in a particular category of books is very exciting and brings a lot of satisfaction, but receiving ABPA’s Glyph award this month will be imprinted in my memories forever.

Three photographs of Alicja Mann at ABPA Glyph awards banquetABPA Glyph awards banquet photos / top to bottom:
Accepting my Glyph Award from ABPA President Bill Fessler and Executive Director Gwen Henson — With Alan Korwin, founder and former President of ABPA — Among other happy winners

I think that the way the ABPA event was organized, its aura and the handsome look of the award itself, made a big difference. The 2010 Arizona Book Awards Banquet took place in Phoenix on Saturday evening, May 1st at the Phoenix Country Club. Dressed up participants, elegant dinner, background live music, projection on a big screen of book covers of the finalists and the presentation of the Glyph Award to each winner reminded me quite bit of the Oscar ceremony. Being honored in that fashion is indeed a special treat. ABPA and especially its members directly involved in organizing the event deserve applause and many thanks.

And I thank you today for visiting this blog and being patient with my bragging. Now I can get back to work on my next projects.

Explore posts in the same categories: Awards, Events, Kudos, Photo reports

2 Comments on “Bridging the Gap of Time”


  1. […] seemed a perfect fit for my essay collection, that I finally published last year. The book recently won a prestigious Glyph award for the cover design and I wanted to share this news with the artist whom, in fact, I had never met […]


  2. […] while she was visiting Tucson and signing her book Moisture of the Earth. As authors, we signed and exchanged our books and promised to visit each other […]


Leave a comment