Cape Cod Sensuality

Moments of “less is more” in using words are of great importance. Bits of happiness and tragedy are captured in those moments. Poems are born in such moments. My desire to define the essence of my love for Cape Cod calls for such a moment.

I fell in love with the Southwest a decade ago and made Tucson my home, yet each summer I “go back home” to the Cape. The call of the Southwest and the call of Cape Cod divide my heart.

What is that call of the Cape made of?

For me it lies in the Cape’s sensuality. Yes, sensuality! Sensuality of the tastes and textures of the place. When I leave the Cape in a few weeks to answer the call of the Southwest, I know that I will also hear The Call of Cape Cod.

My bare feet will long for the silkiness of the beach sand

and the touch of frothy waves.

Eyes will miss the huddled boats in the harbor and the lonely ones

on the infinite ocean horizon.

Tongue will remember the bitter taste of the ocean water and the sweetness

of the native scallops.

Hands will not forget the roughness of the weathered shingles and the gentle touch

of white pine needles.

My heart will know how to answer that call….

* * *

Copyright © 2011 by Alicja Mann.

Bourne Bridge to Cape Cod, Massachusetts - photo by Alicja Mann

Cape Cod Window, Massachusetts - photo by Alicja Mann

Cape Cod Shingles and Flowers - photo by Alicja Mann

Huddled Boats in Woods Hole, Massachusetts - photo by Alicja Mann

Woods Hole Eel Pond, Massachusetts - photo by Alicja Mann

Mermaid watching - Cape Cod, Massachusetts - photo by Alicja Mann

Old Silver Beach in North Falmouth, Cape Cod, Massachusetts - photo by Alicja Mann

Beach Umbrella - Cape Cod, Massachusetts - photo by Alicja Mann

Lost in the Beach Sand & Crowded Shells - Cape Cod, Massachusetts - photos by Alicja Mann

Joy of the Mermaids - Cape Cod, Massachusetts - photo by Alicja Mann

Little Mermaid - Cape Cod, Massachusetts - photo by Alicja Mann

Nature Art - Cape Cod, Massachusetts - photo by Alicja Mann

Seagull Watching - Cape Cod, Massachusetts - photo by Alicja Mann

Resting Kayaks - Cape Cod, Massachusetts - photo by Alicja Mann

Beach Dune - Cape Cod, Massachusetts - photo by Alicja Mann

Beach at Dusk - Cape Cod, Massachusetts - photo by Alicja Mann

Restaurant with the view - Falmouth, Cape Cod, Massachusetts - photo by Alicja Mann

Tasty Native Scallops - Cape Cod, Massachusetts - photo by Alicja Mann

After the Sunset at West Barnstable, Cape Cod, Massachusetts - photo by Alicja Mann

From Our Deck - Cape Cod, Massachusetts - photo by Alicja Mann

White Pine - Cape Cod, Massachusetts - photo by Alicja Mann

Matt’s Hammock - Cape Cod, Massachusetts - photo by Alicja Mann

Alicja’s shadow - Cape Cod, Massachusetts - photo by Alicja Mann

* * *

Photos and text copyright © 2011 by Alicja Mann.

Explore posts in the same categories: Feelings, Memories, Photo essays, Photography, Places, Poetry, Thoughts, Travels

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

11 Comments on “Cape Cod Sensuality”

  1. Pam Says:

    I’m forwarding this immediately to Jonathan…he understands.


  2. Beautiful, beautiful. Is the house pictured yours? Who does the garden when you are not there? I am just finishing a week at a cabin in the woods along the shore of Deep Creek Lake. It is in the Alleghenies just west of the eastern divide. Right now the sliding glass door to the deck is open. Tree frogs are serenading each other.

    • Alicja Mann Says:

      Sorry Christina, it is not our house! Our house sits in the woods and it is not of a typical Cape Cod style architecture as the ones I showed in this post.

      The last pictures of the post are taken from the high raised deck of our house. The land requires very minimum maintenance.

      Hey, did you record the serenades of the frogs?

  3. Marina G. Says:

    Can I be jealous? I hope so, because I am! Cape Cod looks so beautiful!

    Your words are touching and especially love what you did with the final photo — echoing the Call of the Southwest image — made me smile!

    Miss you and look forward to seeing you when you return. Soak up the sensual loveliness, my sensual lovely friend, and have a safe, smooth and fun road trip back to us.

    • Alicja Mann Says:

      Yes, you can be jealous. Cape Cod is indeed beautiful! I will be sad leaving it soon, but I will be happy to see Tucson again.

      I am always amazed Marina, how well you understand my intentions in “composing” my posts with words and images.

      See you soon!

  4. Joe Bourne Says:

    if you’re fond of sand dunes and salty air
    Quaint little villages here and there
    You’re sure to fall in love with old Cape Cod
    (Pattie Page)

    Great Photos, thanks for sharing

  5. Lesley Says:

    Your words and photos bring back such wonderful memories of visiting “the Cape” when I was growing up. I remember crossing that very bridge and falling in love with those beautiful houses with the gray weathered shingles, and eating steamed clams we dug ourselves. Oh, and the beach, and the waves . . .

    Enjoy every minute, and see you soon. Tucson has been getting lots of rain, so even here, the frogs have been croaking (I’m not sure I would call it serenading . . . ).

    • Alicja Mann Says:

      I am so glad I was able to bring your childhood memories into the reality of today. I wish you could be here!

      I am enjoying the Cape this year a lot more than last year because I’m able to balance my work and fun somehow – it is not that easy though!

      Only one week left before our departure. Before you notice I will be back in Tucson – so good to hear that it had plenty of rain. Wow! I will dance to that!
      Love – Alicja


Leave a Reply

