Weekly Photo Challenge: Beyond

It was a day full of symbolic images tied to the history of this country—cherished with pride and joy by many.

Imafeof the Inaguration 2013

Beyond Images (c) 2013 by Alicja Mann

BEYOND those images are the dreams, hopes, and great expectations of many Americans. Beyond those images also are disappointments, criticisms, and political conflicts that were left behind for that celebratory historic moment.

The day of the second Inauguration of President Obama was like an elegant portrait of this country, carefully staged and shared proudly with the world. And as such portraits tend to be, it captured the best images of us. We should be aware of that, but enjoy it without any guilt feelings because such is the purpose of most celebrations.

The determination of Latinos, women, gay people, and African Americans secured a second term in the White House for our first black president. Our diversity and prosperity were very visible in that celebratory portrait of this country. As The New York Times writer Sheryl Gay Stolberg stated, “…the faces of 2013 Inauguration Day were the faces of those left behind by the political process in decades and centuries past.”

And that is something truly to be proud of.

P.S:

I took this photo watching the second Inauguration of President Obama on television in the comfort of my home.

***

If you enjoy this blog, please subscribe to it. Thank you!

* * *

Text and photos copyright © 2013 by Alicja Mann

Explore posts in the same categories: Celebrations, Essays, Events, Feelings, Opinions, Photo essays, Photography, Thoughts

Tags: , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

11 Comments on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Beyond”

  1. mark trocchi Says:

    Good words re:the Inauguration. I rode a bicycle in from near National Airport and peddled all around the Mall, monuments and festivities…as I did four years ago when the crowd was more than twice as large. A great day and great fun to be part of history. That’s one of the big reasons why I live in DC….it’s always a local event for us.

    Hope all is well. Keep the blogs and the photos coming. I took a lot of photos at the Inauguration. What’s a good email address such that I can send some of them to you. Tell me if my photos are up for “The Challenge”.

    • Alicja Mann Says:

      Lucky you, Mark! Sometimes I would love to be closer to Washington DC and to NYC!

      Thanks for writing this note. Yes, I would love to see you photos from the Inauguration. My e-mail address is: ALicja@ word-studio.com

  2. Pam Says:

    Thanks Alicja. I watched from home too, teared up several times during our president’s address, and cherished the day.

  3. Marina G Says:

    I appreciate what you said about this most important occasion, Alicja, and I’m so glad you wrote about it in your blog!

    For me, the fact that the President was re-elected, in spite of all the obstruction, lies, humiliation and racism his opposition (rather than to work for the good of the nation) chose to spend four years conjuring and flinging, and the fact that the President was re-elected, in spite of the fact that the country is still hurting economically, caused my heart and mind to go BEYOND the cynicism I had been accumulating over the past four years, and gave me a bit of faith in my fellow Americans. At least in that moment, on that day, I celebrated that triumph of good sense, as I honored an intelligent, caring, dignified and talented man who is our leader.

    Given the circumstances, I felt it was almost as significant as was his election four years ago. YES!!!!!

    • Alicja Mann Says:

      Dear Marina,

      Your statement, above, stands on its own and does not require any comment on my part— really! However, I would like to stress how happy I am that we are “on the same page.” Thank you!

      Alicja

  4. Marina G Says:

    Thank you, for your graciousness, Alicja! It is my authentic response, and seems to take a lot of words for me to convey!


  5. [...] Weekly Photo Challenge: Beyond [...]


  6. [...] Weekly Photo Challenge: Beyond [...]


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 124 other followers

